École Anne Beffort

EIMAB is a state school whose mission is to educate and teach children and young people from diverse national, cultural and social backgrounds. It provides a multilingual and multicultural education that promotes the European ideal, while encouraging an education tailored to the pupil, his or her talents, abilities and aspirations. In particular, it is important to promote cosmopolitan life skills, a sense of individual and common well-being, a spirit of democracy and solidarity, as well as sensitivity to the natural environment that we share with other species, and hence sustainable development.

Our philosophy

Our philosophy is self-explanatory if you look at the illustration below. It includes foundations, pillars and a keystone to create a coherent, stable and sustainable whole.

 

Our educational tools

The reflective and active lives of all those involved (children, young people, parents, teachers, psycho-socio-educational staff, administrative and technical staff, external partners, etc.) as well as the parameters of their environment (family, social ties, cultural framework, religious feelings, perception of the world, etc.) are the subject of a systemic and holistic conception of the human being at school.

It is not the deficits and weaknesses of the individual that are at the centre of our concerns, but the diversity of individual and personal aspirations, abilities and resources. It follows that the pedagogical understanding implemented at the school embraces the diversity of efforts, as well as the different types of physical, psychological and social development of all those involved. In this context, and among other assets, the language skills of all those involved are valued as a means of fostering communication, cooperation and cultural exchange.

Differentiation within our school is characterised by the approach of different learning methods within a class, an auditorium and/or a non-formal education group. The teaching methods respect and promote everyone's abilities and skills in terms of content, academic support, moral support and the working and living environment. Learning and lifelong learning are integrated through individual processes of developing knowledge, know-how and interpersonal skills, which thus take on diverse and enriching facets.

By using IT tools intensively on a daily basis, everyone involved at EIMAB (students, teachers, parents, administrative and technical staff, etc.) will be able to save time and be more efficient, making life easier.

EIMAB operates according to the Accredited European Schools

Useful information

Full-time school

EIMAB is a full-time school with a timetable that allows it to organise extra-curricular activities in a wider, less crowded time frame.

FAQ

Who was Anne Beffort?

The name ‘Mersch Anne Beffort International School’ is perfectly suited to the new school for the following reasons: Madame Anne Beffort (1880-1966) literally personified and even prefigured, by her very being and existence, the evolution of the former domestic school into a new, lasting international school. The daughter of a gardener and one of 12 siblings, Madame Anne Beffort defied all the social obstacles and prohibitions of the time to become the first woman to hold a doctorate from the Sorbonne in Luxembourg and the first woman teacher in the Grand Duchy. Co-founder of the Lycée de Jeunes Filles (Lycée Robert Schuman) and a teacher with heart and soul, her unparalleled courage led her to stand up to the occupying forces during the Second World War. A specialist in Victor Hugo, her unwavering commitment to the French language and culture earned her the Légion d'Honneur from Robert Schuman. A convinced European from the outset, she worked tirelessly for the European ideal throughout her life.

// //

École Anne Beffort

L’EIMAB est une école publique qui aura pour mission l’éducation et l’enseignement des enfants et des jeunes d’origines nationales, culturelles et sociales diverses. Elle dispense un enseignement multilingue et multiculturel mettant en valeur l’idéal européen, tout en favorisant une éducation adaptée à l’élève, ses talents, ses capacités et ses aspirations. Il est important, en particulier, de promouvoir les compétences de vie cosmopolites, le sens pour le bien‐être individuel et commun, l’esprit démocratique et solidaire de même que la sensibilité pour le milieu naturel que nous partageons avec d’autres espèces et donc le développement durable.

Notre philosophie

Notre philosophie s’explique par elle‐même si on considère l’illustration suivante. Elle comprend des fondements, des piliers et une clef de voûte pour donner un ensemble cohérent, stable et durable.

 

Nos outils pédagogiques

La vie réflexive et active de tous intervenants (enfants, jeunes, parents, enseignants, personnel psycho‐socio‐éducatif, personnel administratif et technique, partenaires externes, …) ainsi que les paramètres de leur entourage (famille, liens sociaux, cadre culturel, sentiment religieux, perception du monde, …) font l’objet d’une conception systémique et holistique de l’humain scolarisé.

Ce ne sont pas les déficits et les faiblesses de l’individu qui sont au centre de nos préoccupations, mais la diversité des aspirations, des capacités et des ressources individuelles et personnelles. Il s’en suit que la compréhension pédagogique mise en place à l’école englobe la diversité des efforts, ainsi que les différents types de développements physiques, psychologiques et sociaux de tous les intervenants. Dans ce contexte, et parmi d’autres atouts, le bagage langagier de tous les intervenants sont valorisés comme autant d’atouts permettant de favoriser la communication, la coopération et l’échange culturel.

La différenciation au sein de notre école se caractérise par l’approche de différentes méthodes d’apprentissage aussi bien au sein d’une classe, d’un auditoire et/ou d’un groupe d’éducation non‐formelle. Les méthodes didactiques respectent et promeuvent les capacités et les compétences de tous au niveau du contenu, de l’appui scolaire, du soutien moral et de l’environnement de travail et de vie. L’apprentissage et la formation continue y sont intégrés via des processus individuels du développement du savoir, du savoir‐faire et du savoir‐vivre qui prennent ainsi des facettes diverses et enrichissantes.

Par la pratique quotidienne et intensive des outils informatiques, tous les intervenants de l’EIMAB (élèves, enseignants, parents, personnel administratif et technique, …), seront en mesure de gagner du temps et en efficacité pour ainsi se faciliter la vie.

L’EIMAB fonctionne selon le modèle des écoles européennes agréées

Infos pratiques

Notre offre scolaire en 2021/2022

L’ouverture des classes internationales se fera de façon progressive à partir de la rentrée scolaire de 2021/2022. Les élèves déjà inscrits pour la rentrée 2020/2021 peuvent évidemment finir leur cycle.

École à plein temps

L’EIMAB est une école à plein temps avec un horaire lui permettant d’organiser des activités péri‐ et parascolaires dans un cadre temporel élargi et désengorgé.

FAQ

Qui fut Anne Beffort?

La dénomination « École internationale Mersch Anne Beffort » sied parfaitement à la nouvelle école pour les raisons suivantes : Madame Anne Beffort (1880-1966) personnifie littéralement et préfigure même, par son être et son existence, l’évolution de l’ancienne école ménagère en une nouvelle école internationale durable. Fille de jardinier, issue d’une fratrie de 12 enfants, Madame Anne Beffort a bravé tous les obstacles et interdits sociaux de l’époque, et est devenue ainsi première femme détentrice d’un doctorat de la Sorbonne au Luxembourg et aussi première femme professeure du Grand-Duché. Co-fondatrice du Lycée de Jeunes Filles (Lycée Robert Schuman) et professeure cœur et âme, son courage hors pair l’a animée à tenir front à l’occupant lors de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Enfin, spécialiste de Victor Hugo, son engagement sans faille pour la langue et la culture françaises lui ont valu d’être décorée de la Légion d’Honneur par Robert Schuman. En Européenne convaincue de la première heure, elle a œuvré sans relâche pour l’idéal européen sa vie durant.